WIP, Doctor Who

http://www.etsy.com/shop/oldandnew4ustore 

I’ve been a little quiet on the project front lately because one project has been taking up most of my time. I am just over half way through with a replica Doctor Who Scarf from the original series. Doctor #4 played by Tom Baker wore a striking scarf that was 7 colors, 12 feet long and about a foot wide. It is about like knitting a throw blanket. I made one for my dad for Christmas last year and decided to make another to sell on Etsy. Here’s what I have so far.

It is currently 4 1/2 feet long and about 10 1/2 inches wide. After it’s blocked I think It will be very close to 12 feet long and 1 foot wide.  For the first one I made I used acrylic yarn and it draped beautifully and was fairly light weight for its size, but this time I’m using a superwash merino wool from Knit Picks and it is just as nice as the last one but in different ways. It still drapes beautifully but this yarn is softer, warmer, and the colors are closer to the original which was also made with wool. I hope to have this completed by August 13th 2017 and up at http://www.etsy.com/shop/oldandnew4ustore. The price will be around $110, but I have not calculated it precisely yet so that’s just an estimate.

Anyone planning on going to Gallifrey One, February 16 – 18, 2018? Unfortunately I won’t be able to attend but I hope this scarf will make an appearance. Come and see the site, save it and I will announce when the 4th Doctor’s scarf is ready to ship. 

You’re welcome to come see me at http://www.etsy.com/shop/oldandnew4ustore,  let me know what you think, and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

